Celebrate Swahili: Stories and Songs from Africa

 

stories_zulu

On this month’s Inkless Tales Podcast for Kids, we have a retelling of a traditional Zulu folktale: Where Stories Come From

This is a special kind of folk tale, called a “pour quoi” (poor-KWAH) myth, which means “why?” It’s called that because it’s a story which explains something. In this tale, of course, it’s the story of all stories. I’m betting you’ll love it. 

Following up on that, I discovered a fabulous new word in Swahili: furaha. It means “happy.” So I wrote a song about it, and I added that song to this podcast, too. I hope it makes YOU happy to hear it. 

This year, my goal is to try to tell more stories from all over the world, since Inkless Tales gets so many visitors from all over the world. Next month: a tale from India. I think you’ll enjoy that one, too. 

Thanks for listening.

Your friend, 

Elizabeth Williams Bushey

http://www.inklesstales.com/podcasts/feb_09.mp3

iTunes users:

 

itpc://inklesstales.wordpress.com/?feed=atom


http://inklesstales.wordpress/?feed=rss2

5 responses to “Celebrate Swahili: Stories and Songs from Africa

  1. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

  2. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more
    often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Fantastic work!

  3. I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very
    easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and
    visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create your theme?

    Superb work!

  4. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough for me.
    {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site
    owners|websi

Leave a Reply

